Elections 2019

European Parliament Elections 23 May 2019

23 May 2019

In light of the agreement of an extension to the UK’s exit from the European Union, while the UK remains a member state of the European Union, it is required to elect members to the European Parliament.

Elections will take place on Thursday 23 May, with results declared on Sunday 26 May.

The Notice of Election has now been published.

The list of candidates for the South East Region has now been published.

The list of Polling Stations for Cherwell District is now available.

The results for the Cherwell District Council area are now available. Full results for the South East Region will be made available via the Regional Returning Officer, who is based at Southampton City Council website once the declaration has been made.

If you are already registered to vote, you do not need to do anything to be able to vote in these elections.

Members are elected to the European Parliament on a fixed five year term of office. Cherwell District is part of the South East Region, consisting of 67 local authorities which currently elects 10 members under a proportional representation system. Mark Heath is the Regional Returning Officer (RRO) for the Region.

To find out more about the European Elections, visit the government website