Police Area Returning Officer (PARO)

Police and Crime Commissioner Elections

Voters in 41 police force areas in England and Wales (excluding London) will be electing a Police and Crime Commissioner for their force area. These elections were postponed from May 2020 due to the Covid-19 pandemic. 

Police and Crime Commissioners (PCCs) were introduced in the 41 police authorities across England in 2012. They are elected representatives who oversee how crime is tackled in a police force area. Their aim in to cut crime and to ensure the police force is effective. They are elected for a four year term. 

Further information about the role is available from Thames Valley PCC website or the Association of Police and Crime Commissioners

Police and Crime Commissioners are elected using the Supplementary Vote System (SV) and a Police Area Returning Officer (PARO) is appointed to conduct the elections across each area and declare the result.   

The Thames Valley Police Area is made up of 13 local authorities which have Local Returning Officers who are responsible for arranging and delivery the poll for the electors in their area. The number of votes counted in each local area are then collated by the PARO to provide the overall result. In 2021 the PARO for the Thames Valley Police Area is Yvonne Rees, who is also the Local Returning Officer for the Cherwell area. 

The Police Area Returning Officer is responsible for the conduct of the poll and declaration of result only, and must remain politically neutral at all times. For this reason, we cannot provide political campaign or information about the candidates on these pages. However, information from the candidates about their campaigns can be found on the Cabinet Office website. Please note, the Cabinet Office pages will not be updated until after the close of nominations on 8 April 2021. 

In addition, if you would like to know more about the candidates and what they stand for, please search for individual candidates and/or party websites, or contact their local offices. 

More information

The 13 local authorities which make up the Thames Valley Police Area are: