Elections 2022

District Elections

Cherwell District Council has 48 councillors, and one third of these (16) are elected each year.

Details of candidates for each District Ward, and Election Agents if they have been appointed, are available via our Elections 2022 Directory

District briefing 

An online briefing was held for prospective District candidates and agents at on Monday 14 March 2022. The briefing gave an overview of the planning arrangements, key dates and activities for the May 2022 elections.

A second online briefing for validly nominated candidates and their agents (if appointed) will take place at 5pm on Monday 11 April 2022. The briefing will cover electoral integrity, polling day, postal vote, verification and count arrangements and post-election activities. 

Both briefings will be held via Microsoft Teams. If you wish to attend either of the briefings, or would like any further information, please contact the Democratic and Elections team on 01295 221534 or email elections@cherwell-dc.gov.uk 

Councillors due for election

In 2022, the councillors due for re-election and the wards they represent are:

  • Adderbury, Bloxham and Bodicote - Andrew McHugh 
  • Banbury Calthorpe and Easington - Tony Mepham
  • Banbury Cross and Neithrop - Cassi Perry
  • Banbury Grimsbury and Hightown - Shaida Hussain
  • Banbury Hardwick - Tony Ilott
  • Banbury Ruscote - Barry Richards
  • Bicester East - Tom Wallis
  • Bicester North and Caversfield - Nick Mawer
  • Bicester South and Ambrosden - Lucinda Wing
  • Bicester West - John Broad
  • Cropredy, Sibfords and Wroxton - Phil Chapman
  • Deddington - Mike Kerford-Byrnes
  • Fringford and Heyfords - Barry Wood
  • Kidlington East - Carmen Griffiths
  • Kidlington West - Conrad Copeland
  • Launton and Otmoor - David Hughes